W…W…W…Wednesday

Hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading, to join this weekly meme just answer three questions:

1. What are you currently reading?
2. What have you just finished reading?
3. What do you plan on reading next?

My answers are:

1. I’m currently reading Naming Jack The Ripper by Russell Edwards. It’s written by a businessman who bought a shawl, found at the scene of the fourth of the Ripper’s murders, that of Catherine Eddowes. It was the beginning of a seven year quest to authenticate the shawl, which, if legitimate, would be the only piece of Ripper crime scene evidence still in existence. It was to take him from the 1880s to the cutting-edge forensic science of the 21st century, and, ultimately, to the identity of Jack the Ripper.
2. I’ve just finished Us by David Nicholls, the follow-up to One Day. I’m going to review that for this blog, although I know it’s not usual Crimeworm fare, but as it’s just such a high profile release, and I enjoyed it so much, I’m going to review it regardless.
3. The book I’m going to read next…hmmm, now that’s always really hard to answer, as it depends what mood I’m in when I’m looking. I really have to start the Elly Griffiths series, plus I’ve got the Wednesday book in the Nicci French series, which is FABULOUS. I also quite fancy something along the lines of a spy novel, like a Charles Cumming, or perhaps Ben Macintyre’s non-fiction work, A Spy Among Friends, about Kim Philby. Or maybe it’ll be something totally different…I’ll let you know next week!

5 thoughts on “W…W…W…Wednesday

  1. Oh I heard about the shawl and I do love any Jack the Ripper theory and I’ll look out for your review of Us. The Nicci French Wednesday book is great, I need to read Thursday’s still and I do like Elly Griffiths (see I’m not much help) Happy reading!

    Like

    • It’s very good (the Nicholls); he’s a very fine observer of people. I absolutely adore Ben Macintyre (one of my old school friends lives next to his holiday home, and says he and his wife have an awesome collection of DVDs – although you and I would probably prefer to rake through his library!) I know this is utterly sad, but I’ve been “saving” this book for a special read. I love the way he tells real life tales in a novelistic way, and he really manages to find these “truth is stranger than fiction” stories to tell!

      Like

      • Doesn’t sound sad to another reader at all! Some books are wallpaper reads to pass the time on a crushed train, whilst others are absolutely to be savoured with no interruptions, sitting in comfort paying full attention!

        Like

Leave a comment